Women against women?

FEMINISM.

Quickkkkk, give me two minutes of your time & watch a 5 year old explain the basis of feminism.

She is so cute! But I really love how she explains it so simply.

Let’s get right into it.

I do not understand against women.

I just don’t understand.

Let’s start with some of my reasons for supporting feminism.

I have a vagina.

So, I identify as a woman. (To each their own, identify however you’d like! Or don’t! Whatever you like, love.) I don’t think that having a vagina means anything different than having a penis, except I urinate differently.

Men are not slut shamed.

I happen to be sex positive. That in itself deserves a whole post & I’ll make one soon. However, even if you are NOT sex positive… why would slut shaming be okay? I legitimately do not understand how someone else’s choice to be penetrated or not be penetrated is any of your business. I have been slut shamed. Even as a virgin, I was slut shamed at 15 because I was a freshman getting out of a senior’s car. IT WAS MY BROTHER. No one cared to even check facts about us being family, they just commented about the “slut” getting out of his car. Gross. Also, RUDE. It was my first day of freshman year & it made me cry. Obviously it was terrible. I don’t care who does or doesn’t have sexual foreplay or sexual intercourse with anyone else. As long as it is consensual, it is okay. It is not my business & I don’t worry or care about it.

It is better to be beautiful than smart.

After having a bestfriend who looked like a Barbie, but was as shallow as a puddle, I can attest to the fact that people treat you differently when you aren’t a size four and platinum blonde. We have a culture and society that says being pretty is better than being ambitious, having a nice body is better than being well read and being “hot” is better than being a good person. How sad. Am I sexy in the eyes of our society? Overall, no. I am thoughtful. I am kind. I am smart. I am ambitious. I am compassionate. I wouldn’t trade those characteristics for any hot or physically appealing qualities.

Our worst insults are based on the anatomy of a woman.

Cunt. Pussy.

You may be offended by those words. Too bad. They are parts of my anatomy.

The worst thing you can call someone is a cunt? What about a flaccid penis? Is that a body part used to describe being lazy? Or kind of awkward? No? Oh. Interesting. When you’re acting sensitive, people don’t call you by a testicular reference? Hmmm.

Abortion is a personal choice.

No ovaries, no opinion. To each their own. In just the way that people that people make decisions about raising their children, giving babies up for adoption… they can also decide to stop being pregnant. It is the woman’s body and therefore, her choice. While I have never been pregnant or had an abortion, I also know that I have the ability to have a safe abortion. It is MY option, and my choice, should I ever consider the option. No old, white male in congress should be able to tell me what I can and cannot do with my own womb.

In 2013 alone, there were 700 bills passed regulating women’s bodies. There were NONE concerning men.

Bossy actually means leader.

I have always been a leader. I have also always been identified as bossy, aggressive or pushy. My male peers who held similar positions of power possessed leadership skills, had bright futures and were doing swell!

Oh. Okay. Way to teach a young girl to step up to be a strong leader.

Sad statistics. 😦

This country is made up of 50.8% women and only 17% of Congress is made up of women.

Only 1 in 4 STEM jobs are filled by women.

1 in 4 women are sexually assaulted in their lifetime.

There are 4 states who have never sent a woman to Washington.

The repercussions of labeling yourself as a feminist?

Everyone assumes the following;

You are a lesbian

You don’t shave… anything… ever

You are a MANHATER!!

You hate pretty women with tan legs

Yikesssss. Yeah. I know.

Please don’t spread those stereotypes. They can be hurtful and incorrect. It’s not nice!

The good news is, I’m out here fighting. For equality. For women. For men. For me. For you.

I’m hoping that after reading this, you are pondering. Wondering. Asking questions.

Leave a comment